WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE

I was afraid of a lot of things when I was younger; I was afraid of ghosts, of the dark, of getting lost at the supermarket, that my parents might forget to pick me up, and I was afraid of Where the Wild Things Are. There were a couple of reasons for this, the scary wild things, which I was convinced lived in my closet after seeing the book, being one, but the funniest of all reasons is because it reminded me of the song “Wild Thing” by The Troggs. Yes, “Wild thing you make my heart sing”, that one. I don’t know why but I thought the song was creepy, and the book, though unrelated, was equally as scary to me. I never read the story as a child, but did look through the pictures for the first few pages.

Actually reading this book, instead of just looking at the pictures has somewhat changed my view on it. I can still see how it could be scary, especially the pages detailing their terrible roars, eyes, claws, and teeth. Reading it as an adult, and with the aid of the words, I now know that obviously the wild things are not real, and that they are imaginary creatures in an imaginary world that the main character, Max, has created.

I think that this book is great for a lot of kids. I like how there are words to the story, but how in the middle it’s just illustrations. It allows children’s creativity to flow and for them to imagine what the wild things and Max might be saying or where they might be going. I think that for adventurous kids, who may have imaginations similar to Max’s, this book would be great, but for kids like me, who are more timid and liked to imagine fairies and that animals talked, this book might still be a little too scary. It’s all about finding books that click with kids, some books will and others won’t, but it’s important to give children a broad range of books so they can decide what they love, even if one book might scare them a little.

2 thoughts on “WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE

  1. I too have never actually read this book, I do remember looking through the pages at the pictures though! I actually just watched the movie over spring break and I honestly didn’t really like it a lot. I think it was just because the monsters looked kind of weird. I do like this book because it encourages imagination, which many kids don’t uses that much anymore. They’re more interested in technology devices. Thank you for the share and I’m sorry that you thought monsters lived in your closet!
    -Chelsea Peters

    Like

  2. I did read this book before for my analysis project. First time, I read this book. I read the book and it’s very creative and good expose to children to understand how they can control their angry and learned the lesson. As well, children will know that their parents will love them no matter what. Poor you, about the monster in your closet! Make sure you tell the students/children that we are okay! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    -Katelyn Miller

    Like

Leave a Reply

